Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

How am I still doing this?

Our Do One thing Project is only halfway done

Charlotte Beers
2 min readApr 2, 2019

--

Over the past two weeks I’ve somehow managed to stay pescatarian and not cheat. As I continue my Do One Thing (DOT) project my family has decided to do it with me — well, for the most part. With the barbecue chicken pizza, the fettuccine alfredo with chicken, and the chicken curry I think they’ve definitely cheated a few times.

“Being pescatarian is very annoying because I love bacon, hot dogs, hamburgers, pepperoni pizza and spaghetti with meatballs. Now I can’t eat any of that stuff because I am pescatarian”

- Jonah (My brother)

Photo by Casey Lee on Unsplash

As you can see my brother has been taking this the hardest. He’s always loved meat so not having it isn’t getting the best reactions out of him. One thing I have noticed is that I’ve definitely been hungrier than usual. I’ve had to have more snacks throughout the day with higher protein levels. Another thing that I’ve noticed is that I’ve been eating a lot more fish and vegetables in the past two weeks. I mean, that was expected, but it’s still unusual for me. I’ve been branching out more and have tried tofu, which wasn’t all that bad. I’ve tried to substitute it for things like pad thai that I might normally have chicken with. I’ve definitely eaten more veggie burgers than I otherwise would have.

One main strategy I’ve been using to make sure I don’t cheat is just to tell myself that I won’t. I’ve definitely been getting meat craving but I’ve been trying my best to resist them. One great resource for new pescatarians like me is this article in verywellfit. One of the biggest challenges I’ve had was definitely when I went to the NCAA tournament basketball games last weekend. The only pescatarian option there was pizza and it was not very good. This was frustrating for me because I really enjoy going to sporting events and not having many options for what to eat is definitely annoying. Next weekend I am going to New York and I’m just going to hope for the best with my pescatarian diet!

--

--