How Being Vegetarian Changed My Life

“If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian.” — Paul McCartney

Emily Hernandez
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 2, 2019

--

At the beginning of our DOT Project I was a little skeptical about going vegetarian. It is not an exaggeration that when I decided I was going do this project I felt like it might be the end of the world for me because I thought my life would be over and I wouldn’t be able to eat anything anymore.

It has currently been over two weeks of the DOT Project and I am actually doing really good! I haven’t cheated yet and I am really proud of myself. I thought I was going be the first student in my class to give up and revert back to my previous diet but it turns out I am one of the people who has actually been sticking to it the best.

One thing that has motivated me to continue is all the interesting facts that I have learned thanks to Cowspiracy because that gave me strong motivation to help the community and do something good for a change. Something positive that has happened is that my body has felt good and healthy. I know that sounds really weird but it’s true! It’s interesting because you would think that a girl like me would just give up and not pay much mind to what I eat. But this vegetarian food is actually not the bad.

Vegetarian foods I have been enjoying:

  • Meatless Chicken nuggets
  • Tofu Burrito with potato
  • Veggie basses Mac and Cheese
  • Fettuccine Alfredo with Broccoli
  • Salads with Ranch Dressing

Fun fact: I tried meatless chicken nuggets and they tasted exactly like regular nuggets! Cool, right?!

The annoying part about this project is that I am the only one in my house who is vegetarian and my family continues to offer me food with meat and I just keep saying, “No thank you, I am sticking to my diet.” My family laughs and tells me I don’t know what I am missing out on. I just respond, “Please, I will survive.”

I hope that later on I will continue to stick to being vegetarian and help the environment in some way. An added bonus is that my health will be so much better with the healthier food I am eating! What will you do to save the world? See you soon in my journey!!

--

--

Emily Hernandez
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

I am a student at Oyster Adams and i am going Vegetarian for my DOT project