Check out Brook Cagle on unsplash

If you know a vegetarian joke lettuce know

I Went Vegetarian for 4 whole weeks

Leah Blanco
2 min readMay 14, 2019

--

During my DOT I avoided eating 8 pounds of animal products, as shown here. If I continued I would be avoiding 104 pounds of animal products in one year. If the whole United States did this, assuming that everyone had the same original habits I had, we would save 34 billion pounds of animal products!

Since my DOT project ended, I have been eating a lot of meat. The amount of meat I have been eating isn’t more than I originally ate but I am more aware of the amount since cutting it out completely during my project. It seems this project has had a lasting impact on my awareness and mindset about eating meat.

This project has had an impact not just on me but on the rest of my family too. Even now, with the project over, we have been incorporating more salads and smaller quantities of meat into our dinners. It’s helping my parents’ diet and making them healthier.

Lately I have been considering making the effort to be vegetarian for one day each week. I feel bad for the animals and I know that eating animals is also damaging our planet. Unfortunately, I am aware that cutting out meat one day a week wouldn’t be making the biggest change for the earth but maybe it could be a start.

I was surprised that I was able to be a vegetarian for a month. In my culture we eat a lot of meat and I was used to meat at every dinner. The month of my project changed my perspective about the possibilities for what I can do. While, in the end, I don’t feel ready to make a permanent change to be vegetarian, I am interested in cutting out some meat from my diet.

I also learned something new from being vegetarain that vegans dont buy close made from silk,leather,fur and wool. I got this information from vegucated.

Would you vegetarian? Vegan? or anything else to help this planet.

Thanks to Jude Infantini on unsplash

--

--

Leah Blanco

I go to Oyster Adams and I am going vegetarian for school project going to be super hungry!