Improvement

Jamari Burriss
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMay 30, 2019

--

Amount of water saved

I have learned that while doing this project I have shown my brothers another way to do the dishes and in a way to save more water. Also another benefit that I have realized is that using less water while doing dishes helps for me to have warmer water while in the shower. The expectation in this project was to complete a Google Sheet and use the data to show how much water I have saved but, as you can see, I have not completed it. Even though I have not completed the Google Sheet I still know that I have reduced the amount of water that I used.

I think that I might use the technique of turning the water off while soaping up the dishes and then rinse them all together at the end. Also I could use my dish washer because dish washers now a days are more advanced and they save more water. According to NRDC, “It may feel more virtuous to wash by hand, but it’s actually more wasteful: You use up to 27 gallons of water per load by hand versus as little as 3 gallons with an ENERGY STAR-rated dishwasher. And just scrape off the food scraps instead of rinsing each dish before you load it.”

I think that I am inspired to ride bikes around to get to a location from now on. I think that biking would be a better decision for me to take because it helps the environment and it also gives me an exercise for my legs which can help me in baseball, #1 SPORT!!!

If people in OA, DC, USA or other places tried my project then the world in my opinion should be able to see a change in at least 3 years. Eventually the rest of the world would pick up on whats changing and then also try and make an effort to change which would cause there to be eventually no water being wasted.

--

--