It Hit Me Right In The Face

Mason Berry
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 14, 2017
I NEED THE MEATS

That Delicious Meat: You know that delicious meat that comes from cows, that stuff that they put on your burger, that stuff that you can get at those fancy restaurants? Yes, you guessed it — it’s beef. Beef. The one and only thing that I can’t eat for two more weeks. I have gotten over the big hurdle of the first week and now I am doing great. I haven’t eaten beef and I have been craving it less.

Beef isn’t the only meat I have been avoiding. I have also stopped eating pork, which consumes 576 gallons of water per pound. Although that is a lot less then beef, it still consumes quite a bit of water. I have eaten more fish, vegetables, fruit and nuts. The best thing I have eaten this week, I would say, was probably a chicken salad. There were some delicious fruits and nuts on it. There have been many many instances where I almost ate beef out of habit. Like when I once sat down to eat dinner and there was a burger in front of me and I almost took a bite of it.

Until Next Week: Next week is spring break, which will mean grilling and barbecuing for me. I expect this upcoming week to be especially hard for me to endure because I love grilled food. I love the burger, the kabobs, the ribs and everything else. I pray that I can get through this week without eating any beef.

--

--

Mason Berry
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

Oyster-Adams 8th grade working on the change that changes you. I will not be eating beef to reduce the amount of water and electricity used to produce it.