Its harder than it looks…

Emily Zacarias
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

--

I knew going into this that being vegetarian was going to be hard. What I didn't realize at the time was how much meat is around me and how much my life revolves around meat. I am not going to lie….this has been one of the hardest weeks of my life.Why wouldn't it be? I’m changing my lifestyle COMPLETELY. The cravings are insane but at some point I realized it’s all in my head. The most overwhelming part is when people offer you something you can’t eat over and over again. Or when they doubt you will keep this up for very long.

There have been so many times where I wanted to cheat but didn't. Every time I had a meat craving I just remembered about Cowspiracy and what the physical and environmental effects would be if I did eat a burger or chicken wings. Thankfully my family has taken my lifestyle change into consideration when they make diner, which is a huge help and I don’t feel alone. One of the hardest things for me to do was to substitute beans, fruits, salad, rice or nuts for meat. This week’s diet consists of fruits and lots of it as well as PB&J sandwiches. Hopefully the weeks to come will be a bit easier as I become more accustomed to my new vegetarian way of living. All I have to do is remind myself why I chose this project and its benefits.

--

--