Long Showers Are Enjoyable But Not Green

Ivanna Ramazzini
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

--

Long showers are enjoyable . Who doesn’t like a hot long shower on a cold morning? These types of showers can be very pleasant but they waste a great amount of water. Boston University researched the total amount of water an average American uses. “A shower uses approximately 5 gallons per minute. If you reduce your shower time by 2 minutes you can save 15 gallons.”

I am an 8th grader at Oyster Adams. In science class we are working on the DOT Project. In the DOT Project (Do One Thing Project) students and teachers have to choose an activity in their everyday lives and make them more sustainable. I choose to take shorter showers. I consider myself a green person, but one of the habits I have that is not very sustainable is showers. I usually take 15–20 minutes, that is about 75 gallons in just one shower.

For my DOT Project I am going to take shorter showers. For the past week I have been collecting data on how much time I usually take to shower. I am going to find out what is the flow rate of my shower. Then I am going to start timing my showers, and at the end of the project I am going to calculate the time of my showers before and after and how much gallons of water I’ve saved. Long showers are relaxing and pleasant but they are damaging to the environment.

Thank you for reading my blog. I hope you keep reading it weekly. Please follow me and like my posts.

--

--