My family has been very pro-meat for my lifetime, saying it gives me protein, which makes me a “powerhouse” in sports. But do they know how much meat hurts our world? Many problems are surfacing on our planet and I, and my class, want to help. One huge problem is global warming. Many say that the root of global warming is fossil fuels, but there is another bad cause, and that is cows.

In science class, we watched an inspiring film named “Cowspiracy”. The film taught and inspired me to change my old diet, as the effects of eating cow is very harming to the Earth. One reason is that raising cows creates more greenhouse gases than trucks, cars, and planes combined! When cows produce a greenhouse gas called methane, it goes up into the air, creating a rise in temperatures. That alone can give you a sense to change, but when we burn forests to raise cattle, that just adds more fuel to the fire.

I am so accustomed to the bacon for breakfast, steak for dinner lifestyle, I can already tell how hard this may be. But when I am helping the environment that built me, that built us, I know I can pull myself through it, and that is why I, Jack Davis, am going vegetarian.

--

--