Medium Blog Post #2

Neftali Hernandez
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 10, 2017

I suck at being a vegetarian. However, I've learned something while trying to be a vegetarian. Now I see how much I actually eat meat, and I can’t live without it. Its difficult because I eat a lot but when I was deciding to be vegetarian I didn't think it would be that hard. I wasn’t thinking deeply enough and I wanted to try something challenging and I knew everything about what I could eat would change but I never really noticed how much meat I eat normally.

Of course, yes I don’t agree with the way animal agriculture is being handled at all. It’s terrible and I understand that they’re destroying the planet but dang I really can’t go a week without eating meat. I am now aware of how much meat I eat and how much I depend on it. I can go without meat a day or two but more then that and I have to eat some meat. For example, on Tuesdays at school during lunch there’s this group we have that we talk about our homework and how to manage it. They always bring some sort of snack and this week they brought pizza. I saw the pepperoni pizza and the pizza covered in sausage and my mouth watered. I resisted and got the cheese pizza but when I wanted seconds there wasn’t any cheese pizza left so I got the sausage pizza and took off the sausage. I saw the sausages sitting there on my plate, waiting to be eaten; I could almost hear the pieces telling me to eat them. I picked up one and looked at it, my mouth watered. I had to do it. I put it in my mouth and ate it. It was so delicious but once I put the first piece in my mouth I couldn’t stop. I ate every sausage piece that I took off the pizza. Overall, I can’t go vegetarian; I rely on too much meat in my life to stop eating it.

--

--