My DOT data as of now (Medium post #3)

Hector Breton
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
1 min readApr 14, 2017

In an average home, showers are typically the third largest water use after toilets and clothes washers. My shower uses 17.2 gallons (65.1 liters) and lasts for at the very least 10 minutes at average flow rate of 2.1 gallons per minute.

I realized that getting the flow rate was possibly one of the hardest parts for me. Not because it was very complicated but mostly due to the fact I was doing it by myself and was holding the timer in one hand.

Some of my successes have been gathering the data. Taking the shower and timing how long it was was one of the most successful parts but felt very dull and easy to accomplish as most of my timing was purposefully made short to not waste too many gallons. While most of my data isn’t quite finished yet here is the data I have as of now.

--

--