Picture by Ivana Milakovic

My First 2 Weeks As A Vegetarian

This has really helped me a lot

Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
3 min readApr 18, 2019

--

I haven’t had a bad week, except for being tired, and I am happy that I have been able to keep up with being vegetarian for these past two weeks. One exception is the 22 of March, when I ate a small portion of chicken in the soup. Side note: it didn’t taste good to me.

Something I have realized over the past two weeks was that I have slowly started to dislike seeing a piece of chicken or even a piece of meat or fish. It’s not nice to think about the fact that it was once something alive, with a beating heart, moving lungs, a mind of its own, and its own world. It took a few days for me to overcome the fact that I missed meat but soon it went away after I thought about a once living animal.

One favorite moment I have had so far was when my mother said I was doing a good job of being a vegetarian. She even asked me if I would stay a vegetarian after the project is done. I responded to her with a maybe. This was before when I still missed meat, but now my answer to her would be yes. I am considering going vegetarian for a while after this project is done but if I suddenly start feeling unwell because of it, I will go back to eating meat.

One reason I might become concerned for my health would be based on a Medical News Today article I read, which is called “What to know about the vegetarian diet.” It talked about some negative effects that being vegetarian could have, not the worst but still maybe not the best.

One thing I did find interesting from the article was the history of being a vegetarian, when it was first recorded, and tips on how to be a vegetarian.

But whether or not I become a bit unwell, I will try my best.

Thanks to Janko Ferlic for the picture on Unsplash

Look at this baby. It has a life to live and to think we humans raise these babies just to use their milk and kill them. I sometimes wonder if us humans are bad people or not.

Based on what I see and what I am doing, not all people are bad and some are trying to help not only the environment but people as well.

Would you care to join me for my last two weeks of being a vegetarian? If yes, thank you, and if no, maybe you should think about how this world is being changed and whether it’s for the better or the worse.

--

--