My First Week…

Chloe Lassiter
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 7, 2017

--

For the amount of time I have been a pescatarian it has been pretty easy. I haven’t really thought about the things I can’t eat (such as meat) mostly because there hasn’t been much time to think about it. It is also easy because I can still get my source of protein and nutrients in the fish that I consume. Before starting my diet, I really thought I would have a hard time not being able to eat everything I usually do, so that is why I am very surprised to have seen that I haven’t thought about it. I definitely feel more energized now; I can feel a difference. Eating chicken, pork and beef would usually fill me up making me not able to have the liveliness I felt before I ate. But now usually after I eat, I feel the same as I did before so I have the ability to have physical power.

I would probably say that my favorite part of the first week was me going out to buy foods that would be suitable for my diet. I went grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s and I bought some “beef-less beef.” I thought that it would probably be nasty but when I made some pasta with it, it tasted pretty good. I actually read up on this product and saw that beef-less beef is often high in protein and definitely better than regular processed meat most of us regularly buy.

My first week of being pescatarian has opened my eyes to a lot of alternative meals I can eat for a healthy diet and benefit from in many other different ways. Already I am thinking about after my project is over to carry on this type of diet. Believe it or not the pescatarian lifestyle lowers your risk for diabetes, dementia, depression and other health problems. Fish provide many fatty acids that help combat the health problems listed above. I would definitely like to prevent those things later on in my life.

“How did you do that? I could never give up meat!”- Most People

Well I say it’s possible.

--

--