My new path

Finally I can say I’m doing something to save our planet.

lizeth rodriguez
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMay 17, 2019

--

I accomplished my goal of saving water! It has been hard. Before the project, I was taking 30 minutes in the shower and now my longest time is 9 minutes. Based on my data, I have saved 548 gallons of water. In an average home, showers are typically the third largest water use after toilets and clothes washers. The average American shower uses 17.2 gallons (65.1 liters) and lasts for 8.2 minutes at average flow rate of 2.1 gallons per minute (gpm) (7.9 lpm).

The fastest shower time I achieved was 5 minutes. Compared to when I used to take up to an hour (yes, really an hour, I just didn’t take that long during my baseline week), I’m saving so many gallons of water.

I thought I was going to fail this project because I’m the kind of person who doesn’t restrict myself from doing things I want so it was hard to do this for 28 days straight but now I can say I made it and I’m proud of it. This project was fun because at the beginning I had to hurry to get out but now I it’s a normal habit that I move quickly in the shower. Also thanks to my family because they make me hurry up.

I encourage others to try this and save water because using a lot of hot water is impacting global warming and causing the Earth to warm up. I understand it is hard but there are so many different choices you can make to conserve water. Some examples besides shorter showers are using less water when cleaning the dishes, washing your hands, or even brushing your teeth.

If I change you can do it too. You can help our planet be a better place not just for us but for everyone being impacted.

The question is: Are you going to change?

--

--