Not as hard as I thought

Sammy Davis
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 14, 2017

It has been a little more than two weeks since I ended my baseline data collection period. It has been considerably easier than I thought before I started the project. I have not been trying to eat zero grams of non-recyclable food packaging, I have just been trying to reduce my usage of it. During my baseline data week, I used 141.78 grams (about 5 ounces) of non-recyclable food packaging. This past week, I only used 56.56 grams (about 2 ounces) of non-recyclable food packaging. That is less than half the amount of the packaging from the baseline data week, and is a considerable drop from last week’s amount. You can check out my Google Sheet for the details.

I went to Chipotle this week just like I did last week. I went again because I needed something quick to eat, and I also know that their packaging is recyclable. Another thing that I did this week in order to reduce the amount of non-recyclable packaging was to eat packaging that was much lighter than other items. Instead of eating heat-up soups that weigh almost 20 grams, I ate heat-up burritos that didn’t weigh more than 5 grams. This considerably lowered my total for the week.

--

--

Sammy Davis
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

Oyster-Adams 8th grader only using food products with packaging that is 100% recyclable