One Week Later

Vincent Kamani
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 14, 2017

It’s been one week since I’ve decided I was going vegetarian for a month for my 8th grade science project and I’m really just chillin’. Up to this point I have yet to eat meat and I truly feel great. My friend Kaia bought me Chipotle and I ordered my regular burrito bowl. White rice. Black beans. Beef. The hot sauce. Tomatoes. Extra corn. Sour cream. Cheese. Lettuce. But I just didn’t order the beef and it tasted equally as good perhaps even better because the beef at Chipotle is sometimes excessively raw. The only downside to this Chipotle expedition was that I didn’t know that you could get FREE guacamole if you order a vegetarian burrito bowl.

Something that is actually surprisingly more difficult than I thought it would be is cooking meat. I was cooking dinner for my family and what I was serving was chicken breasts, brussels sprouts and mashed potatoes. While the chicken breasts were broiling I decided to cut one in half to see how well it was cooked. Since the chicken was well cooked I decided I wanted to taste it to see if it was worthy enough to be fed to my family but then I remembered I was vegetarian and decided to just taste some of the juice on the skin. Thankfully my family said the chicken was good so being vegetarian didn’t actually make me a worse chef. But it almost did. Almost. And that’s the important part.

--

--