Save Every šŸšæDrop ( First Week of DOT Project)

Ivanna Ramazzini
Oyster-Adamsā€™ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 7, 2017

Water is a valuable resource for humans. We use it in our everyday lives. That means we have to take care of it.

One week has passed and minutes as well as gallons have been used more wisely. I have reduced my shower time by a lot and I have saved plenty of gallons of water in one week. There are ways that have helped me shorten my showers. These ways have taken me closer to achieving my goal. My goal is to save water. There are many ways to save it. Iā€™m focusing on shorter showers. To shorten my showers I have used a stopwatch. In the days I donā€™t wash my hair I put a five minutes on the stopwatch. In the days I do wash my hair I put a stopwatch at eight minutes. The flow rate in my shower is 1.09 gallons of water per minute. Before I used approximately 20 gallons of water in just one shower. Now I use about 7 gallons of water in one shower. Thereā€™s been a big difference in my use of water in one week.

It took me a few showers to find how many minutes is a reasonable time to shower. I tried to listen to music and time myself with it but my time of shower increased. I kept dancing and singing šŸ˜…. The stopwatch worked very well.

During this first week I felt the need to shorten my time in the shower. I still have that need. There are many reasons why people should take shorter showers. Mine is save water.

I choose to be water smart, will you?

What would be life without freshwater? I donā€™t want to imagine it. Save water save life.

--

--