[Short] Showers

Larion De Bhaile
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMar 24, 2017
Photo Taken By Sarah Riggen

I always feel like I’m using too much water. Tap, bath, shower, sprinkler, everything. Considering major droughts all over the world, I’m quite privileged to have this much water at my fingertips.

I feel like shorter showers are the easiest way to be more environmentally friendly while still making an impact. For instance, according to Grace Communication Foundations, showers account for 19% of household water use in the U.S., and it is by far the easiest to limit compared to washing machines and toilets, which account for slightly more water use.

One other big reason that I'm doing short showers is because of the drought and famine in east Africa. The countries primarily affected, like Somalia and south Sudan, are very underdeveloped, which makes this drought especially bad, as it will ruin agriculture, which is their primary source of food. I´m hoping that if I conserve water here in the U.S., more will be left to be transported to these countries and also to raise awareness on the famine.

Suffering African Child in Somalia

At the moment I’m collecting baseline data for this project. For example, I am timing how long my showers normally are and determining the flow rate of my shower. At any rate, I’m very excited to be participating in this project, and I think that it will go well. Stay tuned for more posts!

--

--

Larion De Bhaile
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

Oyster Adams year of 2017, Currently working on a DOT Project for Shorter Showers