[Short] Showers….The Final Chapter

Larion De Bhaile
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMay 4, 2017
Courtesy of Duxnews

It’s finally over! After 34 days of timing showers it has come to an end and I have accumulated a lot of data. If you’ve been reading my previous posts, you’ll know that I’ve been using Google sheets to track my data, which you can go and view for yourself anytime.

Anyway, over the course of the entire project, I have saved over 158 gallons of water compared to my baseline average (12 gallons per shower), and 314 gallons compared to the American average shower (17 gallons of water) over the course of the month. One-hundred fifty-eight gallons of water is enough to fill almost 21 standard plastic water bottles and 314 gallons is enough to fill 41. My total water usage over the whole project was 167 gallons.

Unfortunately, I won’t be saving this much water every month because I have decided to take longer showers than I did towards the end of the project. Hold on — let me explain. For almost half of the project, my showers were under four minutes, I even did under two minutes one time! And from that I have learned that two minutes, or even three minutes, is too short to properly clean yourself. I will still probably take five to six-minute showers because saving water is important, and it’s refreshing in a way to know that you are saving resources but I won’t take showers that short.

From The Balance

To end this on a good note, thank you so much if you’re reading this! I’m really appreciative of everyone who has joined me throughout this journey by reading my posts. Also a HUGE thanks and shutout to Ms. Riggen for organizing this entire project for the whole 8th grade. Hopefully I’ll see all of you again on this site but until then, bye!

--

--

Larion De Bhaile
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

Oyster Adams year of 2017, Currently working on a DOT Project for Shorter Showers