Shower in the middle of nowhere by Jorge Fernandez

Taking a shorter shower takes a lot of willpower!

Not taking showers that last an hour and yet I still manage to smell like a flower.

Sophia Desai
2 min readApr 2, 2019

--

Everyday I have been taking five to six minute showers. When I started this project, I was taking 20–25 minute showers so it definitely is an improvement but it has been hard to do. At the end of a long, tiring day all I want to do is relax and take a long, hot shower. Instead I am having to take a short, frustrating shower!!!

Cat showering (don’t worry I don’t make my cats shower)

One day when I started my shower, I was taking my time and while I was soaping up, I remembered I have to take short showers. I checked the time and realized I only and one minute left to shower if I was going to meet my six-minute shower goal! I had to rinse and hop out. That night I had to use dry shampoo (it’s a great dry shampoo especially if you have dark hair because it doesn’t go on white #notsponsored).

Dog showering

Although it’s been hard I really do feel like I have been making a difference in the world. At the moment I am writing this post, I have already saved 225 gallons of water. Want a more updated number? Check out my data here.

The average American family uses more than 300 gallons of water per day at home. — Phila

Even though I say that taking shorter showers is challenging for me, I think it just depends on finding something that helps the planet that works for you. I mean, I have found being vegetarian is easy and so is generating very little plastic waste. I would also say my family is not very wasteful with food compared to others.

So what can you do to better our planet?

--

--