TAKING SHORTER SHOWERS!

Saving money and water!

Natalie Ramos
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMar 29, 2019

--

While thinking about my Do One Thing (DOT) Project, I thought about saving up some water, so I decided to take shorter showers. You probably think that this might not be useful but actually it is very useful and it will make you reflect when you’re older. I also thought that taking shorter showers would help a lot because I used to take 20 minutes per shower and now that I know that my shower’s flow rate is 1.7 GPM, I have a better understanding of how much water those showers use (34 gallons)! I know how much money my parents waste on only me getting showered. A fact about water: “Less than 1% of the water supply on Earth can be used as drinking water.”

When we were introduced to this project ,and I learned that taking shorter showers would count as being more sustainable, I thought about my cousins in El Salvador. I remembered spending summers with them and we all used to take really short showers because the water was freezing and I saw kids that didn't even take showers because the water was too cold. Now I see that kids here in the USA assume that kids in other places are healthy and have everything they need, which is actually not true in every country. And thinking about water and money, I think that water is based on money because the more water you waste, the more money you waste and the more money you have, the more water you have access to.

“The more we value things, the less we value ourselves.” — Bruce Lee

My mom always tells me to value everything I have because not everyone has the opportunities I do, including the access to abundant freshwater.

Follow me as I go through this journey. My parents are already amazed at how little time I take in the shower now compared to just a couple weeks ago.

--

--