That’s a wrap

My own version of a “plastic” bag during the DOT

Well, my four weeks not using disposable plastic have ended, and it was sort of fun. I got to try alternatives in my lunch (as seen on the left) and when I was out and about. However, this project was challenging. I learned a lot about how much plastic is used and wasted. I am very glad this was my DOT project but I can tell you from experience it’s a lot harder than it seems. The thing is that there is a lot of plastic in the world and I mean a lot. I am very glad to have my chips and candy back. But there are a few things I am going to continue doing.

During the project I realized how wasteful disposable plastic water bottles and plastic bags are. I have decided that I am going to continue not using those items in the long term (hopefully I succeed). On the other hand, things such as plastic wrappers and things that you get at a restaurant are to hard to say no to. I tried hard, and yes, I did fail on multiple occasions but I am glad that I will be able to continue a small part of this project. I am proud of what I have accomplished. It felt really good to help the environment.

I have been stopping myself from using some disposable plastic even after the project ended. Last Sunday, on the very last day, my brother had his birthday party. My mom was getting out plates and other stuff to serve food and drinks. She took out some plastic cups and I said to her, “No, we are not using those plastic cups. We have space in the dishwasher to wash ten extra cups.”

--

--

Elena Rubens Goldfarb
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

I am an 8th grade student at Oyster-Adams. For my DOT project I am reducing plastic use in my daily life.