Photo by Jorge Fernández on Unsplash

That’s a wrap! Back to normal showers

Nick Kourakis
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMay 16, 2019

--

For the past month or so, I’ve been (suffering a little) by taking shorter, and colder showers. My original plan was to only take showers shorter then I’d usually take them, but while doing this project, I read that colder showers would also help the environment.

My eighth grade science class had to do a project to try to be more sustainable towards the Earth, due to the intense levels of climate change, and the Earth is basically dying because of how humans treat it. I’ve decided to save water by taking shorter showers. Over the course of 5 weeks, I saved 347.7 gallons of water, and saved more then 2 hours by cutting back on my shower time. Throughout my project, I kept a log of how many minutes I showered per day, how much water I used and more. You can see that information here. I took notes while doing this project, and as you could probably tell, I didn’t really enjoy the cold showers that I had to take.

Overall, I think that I’ve enjoyed this process. Yes, limiting my precious shower time was difficult, but I feel good about myself due to the amount of water that I saved, and not to mention the amount of money. I think that once I got used to it, it wouldn’t be such a big deal to take 4 minute showers everyday. After the project ended, when I was back to taking regular showers, I noticed that there really wasn’t any point in being in the shower for 10 minutes. After more then a month of 3–6 minute showers, I got bored of being in the shower for longer periods of time. I realized that helping the Earth by taking shorter showers is WAY more worth it then being in a shower those extra five minutes just because you “feel good” in it.

Here’s an incredibly simple video with many tips on how to take shorter showers.

Anyways, my conclusion from 5 weeks of effort is that it’s not THAT bad. Sure, it might take some getting used to, but in the long run, it’s worth it. Now, I challenge you, yes you, to try this project. Not even shorter showers, just anything to help the Earth, and I want you to log it. See how much you can save of whatever your doing, and you will notice that it’s not that hard.

--

--