The DOT Project has ended!

Ivanna Ramazzini
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMay 26, 2017

The last week of the DOT Project has passed. It was a really good experience. It helped me get out of the bad habit that I had. I used to take really long showers. Even though I’m done collecting data, I’m not done taking shorter showers. My goal was to take three minute showers when not washing my hair, and when I was washing it was six minutes. I REACHED IT!!

I was inspired by my peers projects and I also wanted to make a big change. Now that I am done I would like to start eating less meat and eat more locally. Now, don’t get me wrong, I will not go vegetarian. I wouldn’t last a day.

In one month I saved 165 gallons of water. My showers used to be 20 minutes long. Now I take 5 minute showers. My time decreased by approximately fifteen minutes.

I would also like to try to use less plastic bags. Whenever we go to Safeway or Target we ask for at least three plastic bags. We own reusable bags but we still use plastic bags.

Reducing my time in the shower felt good. Now when I shower I am aware of how much time I take. I listen to music to relax and time myself. Sometimes I put a stopwatch because I feel I’m going to take too much time. I would like other people to do the DOT Project. It is a good way to take action and start helping the environment.

Some of my classmates did shorter showers, others went vegan or vegetarian and others used less plastic. There is a lot of ways to help the planet.

--

--