The End Is Finally Here

The Impact of my DOT project and my new lifestyle change

Genevieve Harris
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readJun 6, 2019

--

Photo by Samara Doole on Unsplash

After four weeks of taking shorter showers for my DOT (Do One Thing project) I am finally done! I didn’t think something as simple as taking shorter showers could make such a big impact but it does! These past four weeks to track my water usage I’ve been timing my showers and calculating the number of gallons of water used on a google doc. After four weeks of taking shorter showers, I have saved 234 gallons of water! If I were to continue this sustainable lifestyle for a year I would save 3,024 gallons. Who would've thought taking shorter showers would have such a big impact on the amount of water we waste!

What do I do next?As much as I have missed the long hot showers that I used to take, this project has discouraged me from continuing to do so. Even though I won’t be recording my shower data in a google doc I am now more aware of the impact a long shower has on the amount of water I waste and the world in general. Currently, I am continuing my dot project but in a modified version. I’ve been continuing to brush my teeth and apply face wash outside of the shower. Also, I have been keeping my showers under 20 minutes (as hard as it is to do so!). On those hot sweaty days I even try to take an only cold water shower!

Throughout the DOT project, I have also been able to see what other changes my friends have made to their lifestyle. One very popular change was going vegetarian! Seeing how happy and healthy my vegetarian friends felt inspired me to maybe try it one day! I don’t know how many days I will be able to not eat meat! Wish me luck on my new adventure :)

--

--