The Meat Movement

Skylar Johnson
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMar 23, 2019


Welcome! My name is Skylar Johnson and I go to Oyster Adams Bilingual School and I am in the 8th grade. This year in our science class we decided to try to do something that will help to better our world. That’s where the Do One Thing (DOT) project comes in. The DOT project is a volunteer option that consist of actions that you yourself believe will make the world a better place from an environmental perspective. For example, you can choose anything from going vegan to taking shorter showers to composting. The goal is to start for month and if it works out to make it a routine.

For my DOT I have decided to go vegetarian. If you’re not aware of vegetarianism, it’s the practice of abstaining from the consumption of meat red meat, poultry, seafood, and the flesh of any other animal). On a regular basis I don’t eat any other meat than poultry and fish so going vegetarian is not a huge change for me. But it is going to be a challenge for me because I love chicken and not eating it for a month is going to be very hard. But in the end it is going to be worth it knowing that I helped contribute to making the world a better and more sustainable place. For example did you know that by being vegetarian you can save over 3,000 gallons of water a day? The amount of water used by vegetarians is 300 gallons a day compared too the 4,000 gallons used by non-vegetarians(chasing green paragraph.3). Being vegetarian can save land as well. Did you know 30 percent of the Earth’s entire land surface is used for raising farm animals? Therefore by reducing your consumption of meat you’re saving more and more land. These facts help to show you that I’m not just doing this for myself but for our environment. Growing up in the city helped to show me that we, many of us, have very large carbon footprints and that our use of fossil fuels are getting larger and larger everyday. This affects the biggest struggle for our environment today — climate change.

Lastly, I hope this helped to show you that you can make a difference in this world. You don’t even have to go vegetarian but you can do anything to help make the world more sustainable and better.

--

--

Skylar Johnson
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

I am going vegetarian to help to try to improve and incorporate to changing the world for the better.