My Whole Diet Is Surrounded By Plastic

--

I was presented this project out of the blue. Never in my life would I think of reducing plastic. Out of everyone participating in this project, I’m most likely in the worst condition. I am someone who literally buys plastic dining ware just to reduce the amount of the dishes in the sink. I also purchase plastic plates and cups! Luckily I am someone who has all the appliances in my kitchen to cooperate with this project.

My troubles aren’t over though. My diet consists of mostly fast food. McDonald's of course distributes paper for their food packaging; the only plastic involved is the tops for the cups and the straws. I’ve already stopped using both of these plastic items; Subway is also the same situation. I’ve already explained my project to my mother and she already agrees with it.

My family isn’t really a recycle nut or whatever but my uncle used to recycle when they lived back in Maryland and drove it to the factory like every weekend for a reward or maybe just for the environment! My grandma also used to recycle her plastic bags and put them into a plastic bag holder to use for later. I was really surprised she was doing this in her 80’s. Unfortunately they passed away and my family has done nothing for the environment, so if I really enjoy this project I might even keep doing it.

I am doing this project for awareness of plastic in our oceans killing coral reefs, washing up on islands and the health of the earth. We use 1 million plastic bags per minute in the world. That number is huge. We also use over 300 million tonnes of new plastic every year and because of this I am reducing the amount of plastic I use for a month and possibly even longer. Read more on the effects of plastic on earth.

--

--