The Vegetarian Diaries

Kenefere Kamani
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 4, 2019

--

If Elena Gilbert couldn't do it, what makes you think I can?

Being vegetarian is by far the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. I wasn't born to resist meat — I NEED MEAT. For the past two weeks, I’ve felt so hungry. It’s like I’m a vampire craving blood but with meat instead. I hope the animals are thankful because I’m suffering for them, which is weird because they are the ones who suffer daily just so us humans can cook and eat them. I’ve eaten meat four times since the DOT project started. I’m not proud but if I sat here and typed that I regretted it, I would be the biggest liar I know.

I remember one day, I was so fed up with being vegetarian that I gave up and ate chicken. My sister caught me and was like

and I continued to eat my chicken like there was nothing wrong with what I was doing. Honestly, I cannot wait until this whole DOT project is over so I can eat all the meat money can buy. Ms. Riggen will catch me and I’ll be like

I love animals but meat is really a girl’s best friend and it gives me the best of both worlds.

I could've chosen to take shorter showers but I consume meat a lot so it was the best decision. Surprisingly, I feel stronger but still so weak at the same time. Hopefully I can suck it up because there’s 11 more days and I don’t know if I can do it. I’ll let ya’ll know how it goes, until next time!

XOXO

--

--