I suppose this image looks relevant enough…

Third vegan week update :)

Elmer Sorto
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 28, 2017

--

OK… so I’m more than halfway there. Just this week and next week and that’s it. I know you’re thinking, “Damn, Elmer, back at it again with another update.” Yup!!

Just to be brief, I’ve been great, feeling good, sleeping well and having more energy overall at home and at school. In this update, I’m not just going to be talking about my life and blah, blah, blah. I’m going to share with you two realizations about why people can’t go vegan for very long. It’s pretty funny actually.

[Disclaimer: I’m not saying every vegan has struggles but I can DEFINITELY relate to it.]

Realization #1 — It’s not easy.

People in this society believe that living without these foods is easy because it’s worth the risk to save the animals that we kill everyday. I’m trying not to be negative because this is supposed to be a professional post so let’s be positive :)

To be honest, things have not been as expected, to put it that way. Sometimes I feel like I have to starve because I can’t eat meat because of what my teacher will say but this isn’t very bright. At first, I was proud that the vegan idea was going to be easy but in fact, there is a reason behind people telling you, “Good luck!”

Most people can survive if they really put their minds to it but living without meat is harder for me because I don’t have as much experience with these types of things like my science teacher can because she’s the smartest science teacher I know. This is mostly because I’m still in middle school. I like being vegan but not everything comes out as planned. I’m not mad, the personal details stay with me, but to be clear you gotta do food research because if you’re a daily meat consumer, there is a high chance you won’t make it through the four weeks. Hopefully, in the future, I won’t choose something that isn’t going to be as effective or easy as I thought. :)

This is pretty interesting if you can understand what she’s trying to say.

This is basically the one realization, in my opinion, that was the one that bugged me the most, but who cares, I’ll get over it eventually.

That’s all for today folks but I’ll keep you guys updated next week on my “journey”

If you’re looking for inspiration or want to go vegan but you just can’t figure out why then please check out this website with all the information HERE

--

--