Too much stuff, not enough space!

Kaia Lucas-R
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 7, 2017

My challenge of reducing the amount of plastic I use has been a lot more difficult than I expected. Remembering that I am doing the challenge and traveling with a reusable fork has been a challenge, but I knew I would have to do that. One thing I hadn’t anticipated was having very little room in my lunch box. Transporting food in plastic containers leaves a lot less space for food. I find myself in the same dilemma most know from an annoying commercial, too much food and not enough space, I have to either find a bigger lunch box or take less food.

Other than that, this challenge has been going very well. When my mom and I went to the grocery store we brought all reusable bags, and when I go to restaurant I have to request to not receive a straw.I have used little bit of plastic. On the first day one of my friends gave me chocolate, in a plastic wrapper, but it is a crime to waste good chocolate. I also did accidentally use a straw in a restaurant. Other than that I’ve been disposable plastic free. While I may be reducing the amount of plastic I use, the amount of plastic produced is still increasing.

--

--

Kaia Lucas-R
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

Eight grader at Oyster-Adams trying to help in any small way. Climate change is a problems so I am reducing my amount of plastic.