Update: Shorter showers

Nick Kourakis
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 18, 2019

So I’ve been taking shorter showers for about two weeks now, and I can’t say I have enjoyed it. I’m used to coming home every single day after school and jumping in the shower for 10–15 minutes (depending on my mood). Before this project, I would usually clean myself in the shower and then just stand there and let the hot water pour on me. I started a project around two weeks ago where my whole grade had to make a major change in their lifestyle to live more sustainably. I chose to take shorter showers. I’m not saying I regret that decision, but there are definitely easier ones and also WAY harder ones (like going vegetarian/vegan). I did a lot of research about showering and I found something interesting.

Cold showers are really good for you. According to MenProvement, colder showers have many benefits. It helps you in tons of ways, for example, it ensures better sleep at night, or it improves immunity. But the most shocking fact about cold showers was that it promotes weight loss! What?! Cold showers can activate brown fat, which makes heat around the body.

I’m going to start taking colder showers as well as cold ones but I don’t know how I’ll do. I’m frequently sore after coming home from physical activity, and I know that cold showers can help muscle recovery, so hopefully it will help me.

--

--