Vegetarianism=Endgame

Skylar Johnson
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMay 16, 2019

My experience with the DOT

Sadly my DOT project has come to an end, and so has my rush to avoid to eat meat. By doing this project I have learned a lot about myself, for example I tend to make a lot of errors when it comes to routines. When trying not to eat meat I had cheated a lot and gave in to my temptations. During the project i had to log my data every day and put down what I had eat, go ahead and check it out: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1c3ISXTYNi_l3HXvpkI4Xh2IDQFJzbbwY5WSh3u3KbnQ/edit?usp=sharing

I had saved 21,900 gallons of water doing the dot project! I also avoided eating 9 pounds of animal meat. Id say that’s pretty good considering I was only doing this for a month. I think now I am going to try to continue on with my DOT but in a more modified. For example when going out to eat or even at my own home if there are vegetarian options I will try to pick those instead of the ones with meat. Also I have been inspired by one of my peers projects and how sustainable they have been to take it own. There DOT was take shorter showers! I know it sounds a little sketchy but it will help to save a lot of water. Foe example you can save more that 10 gallons of water reducing your showers 2 minutes shorter. I learned most of this from this website, go ahead and check it out maybe it'll inspire you as did me: http://www.bu.edu/sustainability/what-you-can-do/ten-sustainable-actions/take-shorter-showers/

It been a wild experience for me doing the DOT project but i’m just happy I got to experience this opportunity. Also Its cool to know that I help reduce CO2 emission! Its time for me to sign off now but don’t worry cause I will be back and next time it will be for an even bigger impact.

--

--

Skylar Johnson
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

I am going vegetarian to help to try to improve and incorporate to changing the world for the better.