Water Water Everywhere

Try to Save It if You Care

Ivanna Ramazzini
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 18, 2017

--

It’s the third week of the DOT Project! There have been challenges and successes. My biggest success of the week is that I saved more gallons of water.

Sometimes I just want to take long showers. I am on the track and field team and I am participating in City Dance. When I do these activities I get really sore. When I go back home I am craving a long cold or hot shower. I would like to spend a long time under the water. I want to relax and forget about the project but it is a habit I need to let go of. It started as an assignment but then I actually realized the damage we are causing the Earth by wasting water. Water is a limited resource. It may be just me making this change but every little thing counts. I want water to last forever. I want it to be fresh for every generation to come. Here is my water-saving progress so far:

  • I have reduced my shower without washing my hair from 16 minutes to 4 minutes.
  • I have reduced my shower time when washing my hair from 20 minutes to 8 minutes.
  • I am saving around 60 gallons of water each day.

Something that has helped me reduce my shower time is creating a playlist. The playlist has a remix for each day. The remixes are four minutes long. If I’m washing my hair I can hear two — no more.

“ What I stand for is what

I stand on”

🌍 🌏

I have one more week of recording data. I am going to be done with the project but I’m not going to be done helping Earth.

I will take shorter showers! (Watch Video on YouTube!)

--

--