Water you waiting for!

Eva Manegio
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 18, 2017

A couple days ago I talked to my neighbor about how the competition was going for her. She responded by talking about how easy taking shorter showers is and how it’s not a big change to her daily lifestyle. What she said was extremely true, taking shorter showers is an extremely easy way to help out the environment. I was then later approached by a 7th grader, who had found out about the competition and was wondering how she could help. I told her we didn’t need any more participants in the competition but that she and her family could always take shorter showers.

These two conversations made me genuinely happy because I then realized that there are people out there that care about this project and that want to help! A couple people taking shorter showers might not seem impactful but with support and help we can make a change!

Here are some ways you can help the global water crisis according to TriplePundit.

Time for a quick update on how the project is going! So far my average shower has decreased from 7 minutes and 40 seconds, to 5 minutes and 50 seconds, almost two minutes less! My goal at the beginning was to decrease my showers by two minutes but since I already reached that goal I now want to take 3–4 minute showers.

So water you waiting for! Lets help save this planet by taking shorter showers!

Here’s a quick video on water sustainability!

Now I have some water/shower puns for your reading pleasure!

  • Q: What do you call a dog taking a shower? A: A shampoodle!
  • Q: Why did the robber take a shower? A: So he could make a clean getaway!
  • And of course… “Water those!”

--

--

Eva Manegio
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

Oyster Adams 8th grader working on taking shorter showers and being part of a neighborhood water saving challenge.