WE DID IT!!!

I somehow survived being vegetarian for 28 days

Luisa Vasquez
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMay 17, 2019

--

It’s been a while since I’ve last posted on Medium. Throughout this whole project I just want to say thanks to all my supporters for reading my posts! I’ve saved 92 ounces of meat during my project. This project has taught me what self control is. There have been moments when I was out with my family having cookouts and I could see the steak and chorizo on the grill, just talking to me, and I would turn around and look down at my salsa and chips.

After going through tremendous dietary change it has raised my awareness about sustainability. Although I have returned to eating meat, I’ve greatly reduced my use of plastic bags and I tell my dad to recycle the plastic cups that you get at McDonald's (the really big ones) or remind him that my mom uses them to water her plants sometimes. Overall I think that I’m mentally not ready to keep being vegetarian, however, I have changed other ways because we have to reduce our impact on the planet.

I have been inspired to live more sustainably in terms of the amount of plastic I use and waste. Recently China has not been accepting the U.S’s recycling , which has led to several issues. Not having a stable location for tons of plastic to be taken care of is causing illegal plastic trafficking to any location to be dumped. Likewise, it will lead to pollution of land and water making the earth less sustainable.

Furthermore if we are talking big picture change with going vegetarian we can possibly save 47,348,668 ounces (2,592,929 lbs) of meat as a capital assuming that they had the same eating habits as me. PEOPLE, THIS IS A LOT OF MEAT SAVED! Where did this number come from? During the four weeks I avoided 92 oz (5.75lbs) of meat. DC’s population is 633,427 so if every person stopped eating meat for four weeks like I did, that would be 2,959,292 pounds of meat avoided.

We can reverse climate change so please try something out. Let’s help our big girl out (the Earth, yes she is female because she is being damaged by men without a cause) the smallest change can earn our futures back! Thank you for following me on my journey.

--

--