Week two of being vegetarian

I need some Chipotle with the spicy chicken burrito bowl

Joshua Bonner
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 3, 2019

--

It’s been two weeks sinse the last time I had meat in my mouth. I think I’m starting to go crazy. I’ve been starting to dream about Chipotle and burrito bowls. I feel like I have less energy and need some meat. It was really hard to go to a burger restaurant and watch everyone eat a hamburger while I was stuck with a quinoa black bean burger. I’m not saying it was bad or anything but it wasn’t anything near a hamburger. Even though the experience has been difficult I’m still glad that I chose to do it, especially because I know I am having a positive impact on the environment by doing so.

One realization that I had while doing the project was that meat was a big part of my diet and that I relied on it for a big source of my protein. Without protein from the meat I feel like I have less energy. Throughout the project I’ve encountered a couple of challenges. For example, going out to dinner you have to deal with other people being able to eat whatever they want to eat whether it’s meat or not. Another challenge I feel like that I’ve faced was trying to find a source of protein that was able to give me enough nutrients like meat. I’ve always been very reliant on meat in terms of getting my nutrients and protein. I’ve been trying different vegetarian recipes in order to get the same nutrients. Even though there are plenty of different recipes I feel like all of the meals are the same with a bunch of cheese and vegetables. I’m not saying that I don’t like it its just that I miss the old way of eating meat.

--

--