We’re so close, I can taste it ;)

Week Two As A Vegetarian

Kavita O'Malley
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 3, 2019

--

Photo by Miguel Andrade on Unsplash

I never appreciated how much self-restraint it would take to be a vegetarian before becoming one myself.

It has only been two weeks since I became a vegetarian as a part of the annual Do One Thing (DOT) project. The first week was rather easy. Even before we started the DOT project my family and I didn’t eat that much meat so one week without it was pretty normal. However, the second week was much harder.

All week I was craving meat. Chicken. Lamb. ANYTHING! I just needed meat. When we went out to dinner on Friday the real test began.

Lebanese food typically contains lots of meat. From kebabs to hot mezzas, the meat is maybe the best part of their cuisine. When the menu was placed in front of me and I wasn’t allowed to order any of those things — let’s just say it wasn’t pretty.

I would really love to be able to say that my love for the environment and my drive to save our Earth is what has managed to keep me from eating meat. However, the truth is that laziness has been my true drive. Over the course of these two weeks we have been tasked with recording data regarding our projects. In my case that means recording the amount of meat I have consumed. Being myself I labeled that as work and am simply trying to avoid it. I have deduced that if I eat meat I will have to figure out how much it was and then write it down. This, however, can be easily avoided. If I don’t eat any meat I can simply record a beautiful zero and not have to worry about it.

So far this strategy has been effective. Despite my constant longing to do so, I haven’t consumed a single piece of meat in the entirety of the last two weeks. I’m saving the world one non-bite of meat at a time! [Note: That isn’t scientifically accurate but oh well.]

Photo by Jude Beck on Unsplash

I am hopeful that I will be able to keep up my perfect streak and survive the next two weeks without meat!

--

--