Why you should try to be more sustainable

Two weeks left in my DOT Project

Andres McMillan
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 18, 2019

--

Bryan Minear-Body of Water

The second week of the DOT project is over and I am pretty proud of myself. My DOT project has helped to develop my habit of taking shorter showers. Before starting my DOT, my average shower time was 26 minutes and I have consistently been getting out at the 10 minute mark, which in my opinion is not too long of a shower. Plus, not only am I taking a faster shower, I am also not running the water the full time so my savings are even greater.

Two ways to reduce the waste of water are turning off the water while I am applying body wash and shampoo and to stop brushing my teeth while I am taking a shower. Cutting off these two practices reduced my time in the shower and at the same time avoids wasting water.

During the first week we actually had to read former eighth graders’ posts, including Gabi Morichi’s (go follow her she is on Medium too) who took 5 min showers. This is very short but very efficient and as long as you’re clean I guess it’s fine.

This week I was watching TV and saw a commercial where Olympic gold medalist Michael Phelps and Colgate the toothpaste company were partnering to convince people to turn the faucet off when they are brushing their teeth. This commercial helped me to understand that not only should I not brush my teeth in the shower but it is also important to turn the faucet off when I brush my teeth.

Gallons of water can be wasted if people don’t change daily habits. If you are reading this, please know that we need to take care of our natural resources like water. This can be done by changing daily habits, taking shorter showers, and saving water. #EveryDropCounts

--

--