Wood Fired Pizza and Vegan? No problem!

Timber Pizza in Washington, DC gets 5 stars!

Ms Riggen
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 12, 2017

--

Cutting pizza from my diet as a result of my newfound veganism was one of my biggest regrets. However, my experience at Timber Pizza this past weekend was amazing!

Timber Pizza has delicious, fresh pizzas, salads, empanadas, and drinks. Now, according to the menu, all of Timber’s pizzas have cheese. When I asked a Timber staff member about options for vegans, he was incredibly helpful. Essentially, he informed me of two ways to veganize my pizza:

  1. Any pizza with a tomato base could be made cheeseless. The tomato sauce is sufficient for preventing burning when the pizzas go into the 700-something degree Fahrenheit oven for cooking. The pizza doesn’t normally come with a tomato base? Just add it!
  2. In addition, Timber has Daiya on hand as an option for people looking to avoid dairy-based cheese.

On top of these two awesome options, I was given the opportunity to try both on a pizza to see which I preferred. Yay, taste test! I ordered the Julia pizza (normally with an olive oil and pesto swirl base, provolone, and mozzarella cheese). On one half of the pizza I added a tomato base and on the other half I substituted Daiya cheese instead of dairy cheese.

Julia pizza with tomato base on the left and Daiya on the right; I also ordered a Scotty salad, half-eaten in photo, which was equally delicious (Photo by )

I learned from this impromptu taste test that I am not a fan of Daiya. However, I loved the tomato base side of the pizza! So there you have it — nutritious, delicious pizza without cheese!

This post is part of the Oyster Adams’ Do One Thing Project, a month-long quest by Oyster Adams’ 8th graders to live more sustainably.

Like this story? Click the heart below. It helps others see the story. Thanks!

--

--