5 Behaviors of Introverts That I Enjoyed As an Extrovert

I may stay here for a while now.

Nicole Sudjono
P.S. I Love You
5 min readMar 15, 2021

--

Photo by Vladimir Fedotov on Unsplash

I was considered an extrovert, and most of my friends, best friends, and family are introverts. So you can imagine how strange I was to them, but thankfully, they still accepted me for who I am.

Throughout the time, whilst hanging out with them, I was somewhat exposed to their world for a long time. I learned what they like to do and what they don’t like, their interest, and how they behave towards some things.

I have to say, it’s quite interesting and fun.

And now that the pandemic happened, when many people complained that they didn’t like to be locked up in their houses, I was quite able to enjoy staying at home 90% of the time.

This is what I love about the world of introvert that helped me get through 2020:

1) Reading and Writing

I used to hate reading and writing a lot at school and my hobby was playing games. I wasn’t the greatest in writing class too, I was always getting Cs in IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education )and the teachers weren’t confident that I’ll ever be a writer. That was probably the reason why I had doubts in this particular department.

But then, at some point, when I was pursuing my dreams to be in the cinema and film industries, I knew I had to be more serious, and I began reading self-help books.

Somehow, after reading books, I began to be more interested in those rather than video games. I learned more things than I should, and I felt more relaxed doing so.

As for writing, I find that this is a stress-relieving hobby. If I had to choose between drinking wine and writing, I’d go for writing anytime to spill all my feelings out. It’s very peaceful and helped make my mind clearer.

Today, I still write and read. I’ve traded video games for books and it was the best decision I’ve ever made as an extrovert.

2) Silence Is Golden

I used to hate being silent, I was the most talkative person in the class and at home, I’m certain there were times my family, teachers, and friends would love to staple my mouth shut.

I think I also had the bad habit of not listening to others, and when there was something that contradicts my beliefs, I’d jump in without listening. That was my terrible habit.

A few years later, I learned that being silent is a great way of having fun too. When I began reading and writing, I realized that this peace and quiet in my mind is something I needed. It’s such an amazing feeling to just be alone for some time and have that silence to think for yourself and not let anyone talk or tell you what you should be doing.

Being silent also helped my relationship with friends, because I was more willing to listen than to interject and tell my own thoughts. I just like to listen rather than to tell my problems. At some point, my friends would tell me that I’m a good listener and then they continued to rant their problems to me again. I am obliged to listen to people now.

3) Being Alone Is A Precious Moment

Since silence is golden, so is the time when I’m allowed to be alone.

In the past, I hated to be alone. In fact, it was one of my sources that got me into depression. It was a very lonely journey, and I was losing my mind just because of that. From that point on, I never wanted to feel alone anymore.

But what I missed about this moment was that I didn’t take the time to self-reflect. That this moment was the best to rethink my life instead of feeling like I was in a bottomless pit. It was a gift to me, telling me that I need peace and tranquility.

Now, I always admire the nighttime. It’s the time where I didn’t have to think of anything else but myself, a time to self-reflect, and a time to enjoy the moment without thinking anything else. I cherish this moment very much now.

4) You Spend Less Money To Have The Most Fun

Can’t go out? No problem! There are so many activities that most introverts enjoy doing at home, and I’m loving them. I find that introverts are the experts at having maximum fun at home without wasting a lot of money.

Some introverts I know do a lot of artful things at home. They create amazing things at home such as building legos, music, writing and more. They don’t get bored building something as their entertainment, and I’m impressed at everything they have ever created.

So I decided to do the same.

Reading and writing are by far the best fun I’ve ever done. I’m never bored now. It’s like reading literature is enough to take me far away from reality and escape to another world. That alone is more fun than traveling.

The best part is that it costs 10 times cheaper than your plane ticket! You already get the taste of multiple worlds without even spending much on it.

5) Barely Ever Bored At Home

With all the activities I’ve been occupying myself with at home, listening to music, reading, and writing, I am barely ever bored. I could get lost in my own world without ever going out and spending money.

This is somehow a superpower! I could even be doing nothing and just get lost in my own mind, and not get bored at all. The best part is, you get these wild dreams running in the back of your head that you never even thought of and get passionate about it.

This is one of the reasons why I started writing at some point. With the time allowed to be alone and just get lost inside my head, I thought about writing all the experience I had in the industry that I love.

All in all

I find that introverts are secretly superheroes or something. You guys barely say anything and sometimes shy away from things that make you uncomfortable.

Yet whatever is in your head is always wild and amazing, and it had to be shared with everyone! This is what I enjoyed in the world of introverts.

I like to think of myself as an ambivert now. Loving both the extrovert and introvert worlds, but able to cope in between. Introverts helped me realize the peace and quiet that I never knew I needed, helping me to be more self-aware and give me peace of mind.

So to any introverts out there, you should all be proud of yourselves.

--

--