A Butterfly Companion

Tara Europe
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readNov 24, 2019
Photo by Xuan Nguyen on Unsplash

I charge into my room and slam the door, spin the lock,

and a little green-cream butterfly follows the path of a fallen ribbon

that dances through the air.

The flutter of its wings does not blur the grey-hued lace embedded in its chiffon wings, frayed with two delicate antennas

whose ends are garnished in tear-shaped moons of vinaigrette.

I pace to my kitchen counter and rest my hands upon it, its ribbed, undulating,

tarnished metal cooling my resting digits.

I swing the fridge door open (it clicks, alights, and hums), I let the plastic-disk lid of the humus rattle onto the counter,

and drag my knife’s edge, applying the paste over a roughly sliced piece of softly resistant bread. It regenerates into its original form.

As I twist my wrist and apply the paste,

I see two wispy wings perch on my left index finger, in between the creases of my two other phalanxes.

These wings may think: this tree brings me a breeze and nourishes me with moist yet tartly tasting sugar.

I think about its six legs aligning on my sandy,

scaly skin

and I wriggle my wrist.

A chaos of air flutters my senses and propels up towards my lips in acrobatic somersaults.

I raise the slab of cemented bread to my teeth

and my eyelashes applaud at the commotion.

A tinge of guilt that I disturbed its place; but he disturbed mine so we understand one another’s boundaries for interaction. A cow in a fenced-field would have flicked the flies away from its filth,

or how about the whipping of a branch in a torrent of wind?

I sit down at my desk and its wings make unmovable Shadow-Atlas-mountains

along the contour of the reflective, Sahara wall.

She watches me study.

I watch her cling.

Tonight I saw her on her side, swept upon the cold windowsill;

its wings were taught and they rippled with graphite veins,

its legs outstretched, piercing the air:

two blobs of crude oil for bland unseeing sensors.

I lay in bed on my back

and looked up at the bland, triangular, electric green-cream illuminations cast on the reticulated wall.

In the top left corner in the largest of the shimmering fragments fanning across the ceiling and wall,

was hidden a smaller triangle of two balancing,

hovering wings,

perched on the edge of the pane.

--

--

Tara Europe
P.S. I Love You

developer by day, writer by dusk, sleeper by night. If you like what you read, clap the article and follow me for more discoveries! paypal.me/coffeefortara