A Letter to Amy

Dexter Garcia
P.S. I Love You
Published in
3 min readNov 7, 2017
Photo Credits to Yoann Boyer, https://unsplash.com/@yoannboyer

My Dearest Amy,

You wanted to know my thoughts about love, and so I will share them with you in this letter. As I start to write this, I have no idea what I will say because, in a way, I am not sure exactly what love is. But, I know I love you.

The first thought I get is that love it is a strong desire to be nice. When it comes to you, I want to do nice things. I want to say nice things. I want to be a better person because I want to deserve to be around the one I find enjoyable, pleasant, beautiful, and amusing. I no longer do or say things without thinking about your feelings.

My love for you is selfish because I have my own happiness in mind. But, it is my hope that, by doing nice things for you, it would make you want to stay around so I can continue to love you. To put it that way seems like I am setting a trap. It sounds much like a spider, and I am spinning a web to capture my prey. There is no escaping once a spider wraps you into their prison of silky threads. Yes, I realize it is unromantic to think about love in this way. However, I would never want you to escape. Just the same, I would never seek to leave on my own. I would willingly serve a life sentence happily trapped in your spider’s web because my life has become firmly connected to you.

My love for you is unselfish because I also have your happiness in mind. I am like a gardener that carefully tends to a prized flower. I want you to grow, bloom, and thrive. I try to give you the things you need so you will stay in my garden forever. I protect my flower from the rabbits that want to eat it. I keep the ground clear of weeds and rocks that will make it difficult for my flower to grow. I give my flower a layer of compost to warm the ground when winter is too cold. I give my flower shade when the summer sun is too hot. I want my flower to feel, to know, to believe, that she is beautiful. Your dazzling beauty is majestic to my sight. Your wondrous scent lingers and fills the hallways of my mind. You are the only flower in the world that has ever mattered.

Because of my love for you, I am willing to forget my own desires for the chance to fulfill your desires. My love would give you the largest piece of cake. My love will give you the last slice of pizza. My love would spend a lifetime taking out the trash, putting down the toilet seat, opening stuck jars, cutting the grass, changing the light bulbs, and making the bed. If it is raining, my love would give you the umbrella. If it is chilly, my love would give you the blanket. If you are ever afraid, my love will be your courage. If you ever think something is wrong, my love will be what makes things right.

My sweet, dearest Amy. Love is still more than all these connections to you. It is the connection of our souls. It is the ability of my soul to see all the beauty that is within your soul. Love is my desire to remain with you, forever, for all time, for all eternity.

What is love? Love is the white light that shines on my path so I can find my way. Love is the deep pain that I feel when we have been apart for too long.

What is love?

Love is me. Love is you. Love is us.

Forever yours, Dexter

--

--