A letter to men

Jennifer Mansell
2 min readJan 22, 2016

--

I just wanted you to feel something. Anything. Show me you have feelings. That I’m not crazy for having so many. Show me you’re real. That there is something inside.

I don’t want to love you “just because”. I want to connect. I want to feel deeply connected to you and I don’t feel that way when you don’t get vulnerable with me.

I have spent my whole life trying to penetrate your hard shell and find the cushy inside.

I want to see you cry.

To breakdown.

To feel your pain.

Your anxiety and depression is just all those feelings trapped inside of you. Don’t you see?

I’d love to see you hit something. Smash the shit out of something until you fall to the floor in total surrender to your pain.

I already know your solid and strong. Now I want to see your softness. Trust me, its not weakness. Its beautiful. It is the place I love in you. The place my true respect for you comes from. The place I can connect to you as a human, flawed and broken and love you anyways.

I am learning how courageous and beautiful it is to see a man be vulnerable in the world. It gives me hope and faith that we will all be okay.

I’ve never felt more supported or loved in my life. The men around me are incredible.

I had this vision. I want to get women together to love and support men instead of making them wrong, blaming or shaming them.

Now is the time.

We need to come together as humans with love for each other so we can really grow and flourish here.

Our time is short.

Women NEED men. We need the fathers we never had. The support we’ve pushed away and the love we don’t know how to receive.

We have to open and let them in, let them love us.

Its time to stop making them wrong. Stop putting all the responsibility on them. We need to own our shit ladies. Our manipulation, our neediness. We need to let go of abusive relationships and thinking we deserve treatment not in alignment with love. We need to own our needs. To communicate and learn to love every man, not just one.

To see a man in all his glory.

To let him be hurt too.

To stop trying to “get” things from him.

This is where the healing happens.

I am grateful to be surrounded by highly intelligent, powerful, soft, vulnerable, sexy, fun, strong, and creative men.

I am learning to open my heart.

I am learning to love without expectations or a desired outcome.

This could be the grandest love affair of my life.

I am in love with all men.

In total admiration.

I appreciate them, respect their bravery and courage.

We need them, for us to rise.

--

--

Jennifer Mansell

I write love letters. Sometimes to myself, sometimes to the sacred place in you, sometimes to the world at large.