Photo by Nick Constantine

A night at the beach

Nick Constantine
P.S. I Love You

--

Alone as I walk along the beach, the very beach that we walked along, I think about you as I think about my future. As my class was cancelled tonight I decided to do something that would make me happy and go to the beach and take a walk. A simple walk to clear my head with the stress of finals and papers that are due in the coming weeks.

After a few minutes of bliss under the moonlight, the cold wind started to get to me. But I keep walking and I end up at the boardwalk that you and I walked down that one chilly night to take pictures of the sunset and a wave of feelings and memories rush back. It felt sacred in that moment, just me and the boardwalk. The absence of you felt strange but that’s the reality of it all.

As I continue to walk I decided to go down to the water. The waves were small but still loud enough you hear them crash. The moon was bright enough so that you could see the small waves crash. As I watch the waves crash, I see how two separate waves turn into one and crash upon the cold sand, then the tide takes them both back out only to repeat the cycle over and over. I feel like this describes relationships between two people. Two strangers come together for, what is in the grand scheme of things, the briefest of moments. In those moments however, memories are made. In those moments there are good times and there are bad. At the end of these brief moments the two people, you and I, get washed back out to sea only to start the process over again, with a new wave.

That’s the funny things about life. It’s like the ocean. We meet people who come into our lives only to have them swept away from us. Now by swept away I don’t mean literally pulled into the ocean but rather they are not in your life anymore. They are still out there though, living their life. And maybe one day those two waves will meet again and crash onto the beach.

I hope that we get to meet again one day and can have another chance at crashing onto the beach. But for right now we are just two waves back out in the ocean.

Next time you’re at the beach look at the waves crashing, no matter how small, and think of all the people who have come and gone in your life. Even if it was for the briefest of moments you should reflect on how they changed you.

--

--