All That I’ve Become

Cristina Matteis
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readJun 21, 2017
Image Credit: www.pixabay.com

If you could see me now
hair long and wild,
tumbling down my shoulders
and covering by breasts
like a silk curtain
waiting to be pushed back

If you could see me now
eyes wide open and glowing
golden brown, shining and
singing more songs than I could
ever share with my voice

If you could see me now
body firm and strong
muscles flexed, braced in
anticipation, poised for action
yet soft, in all the right places
slopes and curves to remind you
of the paradoxical beauties
of an enlightened woman

If you could hear me now
the certainty in my voice
questions replaced by answers
shyness replaced by confidence
no room left for apologies or approval

If you could hear me now
commanding the world around me
the fruits of my labor ripened and ready
for the taking, and the making of the future
I’d been sowing while you were too busy
wondering if I might be worth your time

I was patient, growing quietly
in the shadows you left in the spaces
where you failed to stand beside me
when I needed you, even though
I never asked, too afraid of distracting
you from your own life
and me from my growth

Because had I asked
and had you been there
I would’ve left the earth
too soon, would’ve floated
too high like Icarus

We had the power to burn bright
and I saw it, felt it impulsively
as I fell for you compulsively

Lucky that it should fizzle
and fade, as quickly as the
sparks had been ignited
and thereby sparing me
from missing out
on all that I’ve become

--

--