Are memories meant to be squeezed like lemons?

Denise J Medina💫
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readMay 18, 2017
Artist Unknown(image)

I’m having one of those days, you know, the days when you can’t help but think about the life you've been living. The days when you reflect on everything and anything. Your choices, your past, your future, your present. What do they hold that you still haven't seen? Looking into your past is a tricky thing. You can easily see the negative, but you must be awake and aware to weed out the negative and see the good, the lessons, the love. I am not one to live in the past. I try to my best to leave baggage behind. Once I notice I am carrying it around, I let go. It stunts growth. But sometimes you have to examine, see why you remember certain events and forget others. Is it because these events have made you into the person you are today or is it because there is still something to be squeezed out of these memories like you would a lemon. I am not quite sure.

The future is somewhere I do reside. I think ahead the majority of my present, but where does that leave me, nowhere. It leaves me without the now. My present moment is no longer. I have foolishly spent it looking into my future, and what does this create? It creates someone without a beautiful past. The moments lived in the present are the moments we’ll remember for a lifetime. These moments are living.

How many days have you actually lived? How many days have you enjoyed what is the present, the happy, the sad, the everything? How many times have you owned the moment? Instead of walking around like a zombie, a functioning body but a missing mind. A mind that is elsewhere. Will living in the present ever be your reality? When will you start to live? Honestly, I cant say when I will do such a thing. I am one to bounce back from the past to the future, but I would love to be one who can live. Who can enjoy the moment for what it is. The truth. The moment can be an experience, a person, a place, an emotion, with no strings attached to the past or future. Do you want this? I want this. No matter how it is. I just want to live.

--

--