Beckoning Me

Beverley J. Hall
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readAug 4, 2019
Photo by Harry Quan on Unsplash

Life is a rainbow.
Colours cascade around me
as I bask in the afterglow
of the emotions, you helped me free.

Thoughts of you
beckoning me away from the grey
of the life I once knew,
before you showed me the way.

I see the colours.
New colours I never noticed, before
we became lovers
and I hid in the darkness on the floor.

I stood up,
not realising I’d been stuck,
to embrace more than a hook-up,
wondering how I could have such luck.

Where were the colours and the light?
Were they always here?
Or was life really just black and white?
Before you came near.

You beckon me toward the light
and I have no desire to fight
the wonders so close. In sight,
trying to ignore my ‘might’.

Might we always feel this?
Might this be who I was meant to be?
Might the magic in your kiss
have set me free?

I allow myself to float
in the pleasures of the colours.
Your presence is a promissory note
as is my invisible collar.

I cannot thank you, so,
I will share with you
the colours of the rainbow
now we are two.
Where once there was grey,
now there is the light in which we play.

You beckoned me into the rainbow.

--

--

Beverley J. Hall
P.S. I Love You

Writer of Fantasy, dreamer, dweller of fantastical worlds, cat-lover, massive user of post-it notes.