Before I Could Date Anyone, I had to Date Myself.

Tchassa Kamga
P.S. I Love You
Published in
5 min readNov 22, 2017

--

Photo by Artem Beliaikin on Unsplash

It’s not that the people who are in serious relationships are better off than those who are not because of their partners.

I think many people who are in relationships go through harder times than their single counterparts.

I’ve been single and I’ve been in serious relationships. I’ve been heartbroken, and I’ve broken hearts. I’ve also been in relationships where both of us knew we weren’t heading anywhere and just wanted someone to kiss more or less permanently.

My take on relationships, their relevance, and when I think we start to benefit from this opportunity to share so much with another human, all these are solely based on my personal experience, conversations with friends, and books on related topics.

Ergo, I’m not an expert and if you’re looking for data, studies and research, it’s okay to stop reading this now.

Still here? Awesome!

I always felt happier in a relationship. I love the feeling of intimacy that emerges when two people commit to communicating their true selves to one another. Sometimes, I feel I love love.

When I try to express this idea, I think of the relationship babies have with their parents; before they’re able to speak, before they can articulate their needs. A parent has to…

--

--

Tchassa Kamga
P.S. I Love You

I write about faith, family, and finance. Sharing my perspective and learnings along the way. bit.ly/adoseofperspective