Cover My Hands in Oil Paint

Christina
P.S. I Love You
Published in
1 min readApr 28, 2018

Cover my hands in oil paint
and let me massage the meaning from your skin.
I can soothe your darkness
with bright splashes of affection and generosity.

Dig in with slender fingers
to trace the hidden patterns in your frame.
Your skin is like a roadmap
to adventure and belonging.

Build up the pigment thickly
into mountains and ravines.
Create new and unknown textures
with the impasto of your spirit.

Smear over black and blue
with warm hues of red and yellow.
And allow their radiant warmth
to permeate your soul.

Photo by melissa mjoen on Unsplash

Christina is an art historian, a professor, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction. She is also a lover of cats and coffee. If you enjoyed reading this, feel free to clap below. Or follow her on this journey.

--

--