Do we share values?

Kevin S Carr
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readJul 24, 2018

The thing about values is that we all have them; they make us who we are. Our values are simply the things that we find to be most important in life, and our lives tend to tilt in that direction. I’m learning just how important it is to determine what a person’s values are.

I’m realizing that there have been times where I’ve misplaced the blame for my wounded heart. It was natural and easy even, to blame the person who had been the object of my affection. However, the truth is they didn’t hurt me, at least in the way I thought. I was hurt because I was under the impression that we cared about the same things. I assumed that what I found important, they did too.

Values are everything and you can’t work around them. You can’t build anything significant or healthy with a person with whom you don’t share them.

The tricky part is that you don’t always know what a person values right away. Often it takes time and circumstance for a person to live up to what they really find to be important.

I don’t know that I have a clear remedy for that fact. I do however have a piece of advice that I’ve gained from personal experience. There are times when people reveal themselves casually. When they do, don’t ignore it. Don’t overlook the red flags for the sake of staying on an emotional high.

--

--