Don’t say “don’t do it”

Ling Lim
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readJan 16, 2018

Let me make my mistakes. Let me crash and burn so hard. Let me drown so deep that there is only one split second between my death and a gulp of air. Maybe then I will learn. Maybe then I will understand that I never should have dove so deep.

I know that the seashell was so compelling. I know that it had a shimmer that awoke something in me, and I had to have it.

I had to dive to have it.

And I did.

And now I shall wipe all the hopes and dreams I had for it off the map. I shall demolish the bridges between us. I shall toss it back into the ocean.

So if you’re my friend, don’t say “don’t do it, it has thorns”, “don’t do it, you’ll get hurt”, or “don’t do it, there’s shit underneath that cover”. Don’t say it. Let me do it. Let me bleed from the thorns. Let me get hurt. Let me witness the shit.

Let me learn to not make the same mistake again.

You are not stupid. You needed to take a chance, and you did. You needed to follow your path, and you did. You loved a shell that would only sing its own song, and now your heart beats strong.

Now your heart beats a tune of no regrets.

--

--

Ling Lim
P.S. I Love You

Architect turned UX Designer. I value good design, lifting heavy, honesty, traveling and eating lots of protein.